The Mercury Bay Museum is located in the stylish art-deco building, originally built in 1937 for the Dairy Factory. The old butter churn is still on display in the Museum. The Museum houses fascinating displays such as the Navigator display which focusses on the Tahitian Navigator Kupe and Captain Cook. It was during the 12 days that the Endeavour was anchored here that Mercury Bay received its name. A 30 minute locally made movie explains more about these famous Navigators. The Museum also has interactive and multi-media displays such as the History of Fishing display, the Natural History display, the Kauri Room and the 1953 Schoolroom. An exstensive historical photo collection forms the back ground for the displays.
11A The Esplanade